No. 1 Names New Crew Chief For 2015 Season

Jamie McMurray No. 1Just a few days after Kevin Harvick hoisted the 2014 Sprint Cup trophy, changes are happening for the 2015 across the Sprint Cup shops. Now former crew chief for Dale Earnhardt, Jr, Steve Letarte tweeted out earlier that he finished cleaning out his Hendrick Motorsports office, but left behind a “Winner” sticker introduced this year for drivers that ended up in victory lane.

Then, just a few minutes later, a new crew chief was named at another Chevy shop down the road in Concord, NC — Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates’ No. 1 team. Matt McCall will immediately become the crew chief for the No. 1 Chevy and start preparing for 2015’s season.

Coming over from Richard Childress Racing, McCall was the No. 31 team’s engineer — a team that finished up second at Miami-Homestead and was consistent overall the entire 2014 season.

“I am very excited to join the Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates team. This organization is one that everyone in the garage has taken notice of in 2014 and I am just looking forward to the opportunity to make them even better. We have a group of very talented people building and driving the race cars here and I can’t wait to get started.”
– Matt McCall

McMurray’s sole win in 2014 came in the 2014 Sprint All-Star race, a non-points race back in May. 2015 will be his 13th season in the Cup series where he hopes to build on his resume of seven wins, 11 poles, 121 top-10 and 52 top-five finishes.

McCall Named Crew Chief for McMuarry and the No 1 Chevrolet

One thought on “No. 1 Names New Crew Chief For 2015 Season

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.